Long Term Test — Salt-X and Quicksilver 2-4-C Marine grease

Here’s a quick note on the effectiveness of Salt-X and Quicksilver 2-4-C Marine grease when used in combination to prevent rust and corrosion.

I had bought a pair of yellow-coloured G-Clamps from Daiso in May 2012, as a temporary solution for holding the transducer of my Hummingbird side imaging fish finder, while I figure a way to mount the transducer in a more permanent way to my Portabote. However, as John Lennon would sing about, life is what happens when we’re busy making plans — the simple G-clamps, made of galvanised iron and paint, stayed on to hold the block of wood which the transducer is attached, fastened to my stern board and before I knew it, 4 years have passed!

The galvanised part of the clamps were coated with Quicksilver 2-4-C Marine Grease. I had some left over from servicing my propeller hub which got stuck from winding in some discarded fishing line. I saw how the grease had prevented corrosion on the drive shaft splines, and so my confidence in the product grew and I liberally coated it on everything that may suffer rust or galvanic corrosion when exposed to a saltwater environment.

I really hated this grease. It was ummm, how do you say it… greasy when it gets on your hands, stains clothes and gear with oily marks, and it has a smell that’s unpleasant to me. It smells like cockroaches! and when it gets on your hands, washing with detergent may only get rid of the greasiness nut not the smell. Ugh! But since it worked well for preventing rust and corrosion, I just use it wherever it’s needed, from the internals of my fishing reel, the hinges of my gate and of course, on my Mercury outboard motor.


Here, you can see the two tiny yellow clamps on the starboard side stern of SZ14599E, beside the outboard motor.



The simple contraption turned out to be the best way to hold my transducer in place to help me locate rocks, stumps and reefs on sidescan sonar.



The Quicksilver 2-4-C Marine Grease works both as a lubricant for steering swivels and wheel bearings as well as a protectant against saltwater corrosion. If you used it in your fishing reel, an 8oz tube of this should be enough to last you for all the reels you may ever own in a lifetime and still have enough to bequeath to your son.



Some people believe that washing with tap water is sufficient maintenance. Others say that tap water contains Chlorine, an even more aggressive salt than sea water, so it’s better to not wash with tap water if you are gonna use it every week. For me, I do not enjoy shopping. So as a consequence, I’ll try my darnedest to keep all my gear lasting as long as I can.Salt-X may be an additional expense, but if it can keep corrosion away, it’s worth the extra effort and expense.

How did the combination do after 4 years?
I have written previously about other tests I did withSalt-X, a similar product called Salt Away and Marine grease Here, Here and Here. Even though I had written about these experiences before, it was nevertheless still a thrill when I see what I expected to be a piece of gear that’s expected to be expendable turn out to have survived the harsh treatment and emerge almost unscathed. Which prompts me to share this with you all.

This pair of G-Clamps were cheap, made in China, galvanised steel and painted tools. In no way was it expected to survive in the harsh marine environment. On the first day I fitted it onto my Bote, rust spots showed up after only a 4-hour trip out at sea. After a spray down of recycled rain water, I smeared some Quicksilver 2-4-C Marine Grease over the galvanised parts and dumped everything, wet and all, into my cabinet, locked up and left for a week. The next week, I took them out, attached to the Bote and went fishing.

At the end of the trip, all gear were hosed down, followed by a spray of diluted Salt-X solution, then stored wet into the cabinet until the following week and the cycle continues. The week turned into months, months into years and before I knew it, 4 years had gone by. This temporary solution had become the permanent solution for want of a better way to mount the transducer.

A fortnight ago, as I was preparing for my circumnavigation of Singapore in a 12-foot Portabote, I brought the fish finder and transducer home to programme in my route and waypoints for the trip. The G-Clamps were covered with a layer of rusty coloured grease, so I cleaned away the grease to see what’s left of the metal.



With a rag wet with Simple Green, I wiped away the grease and was pleasantly surprised to find that there is negligible corrosion to be found!


The brown stuff between the threads were actually not rust, but were the remnant Quicksilver 2-4-C Marine grease which didn’t get cleaned away by the cloth.

The only part with rust

The only part that showed rust was under these belling! After every trip, the hose down followed by the Salt-X spray had missed this part as it’s bound to the wooden block. The Quicksilver 2-4-C Marine grease had over time, been smeared away and as a result, rust crept in. But considering that I never expected this to survive longer than 3-4 months, I’m still impressed how well preserved it is after 4 years of neglect.

I’m going to wash away all the grease after this, and then paint on some rust converter to the parts that had rusted.

And after that, I’ll slap on a fresh coat of the Quicksilver 2-4-C Marine grease and then forget about these 2 clamps for another 4 years.

Do give the Quicksilver 2-4-C Marine Grease and SaltX a try on your precious fishing reels. I must state here that I’m neither sponsored or paid by these two product manufacturers. I paid the full retail price for my Quicksilver 2-4-C Marine Grease and SaltX. I’m writing this as a satisfied customer who wanna share the good news of protection against galvanic corrosion with people who spend time on or near water.

God bless you all, and stay corrosion free!

LL

© Copyright Lawrence Lee
All Rights Reserved

If you want to use any part of the text or image, please write to me at Lee.TC.Lawrence@gmail.com

11 responses to “Long Term Test — Salt-X and Quicksilver 2-4-C Marine grease

  1. So you have two trips with the clamps and maybe 8 hours in saltwater. You cleaned them and greased them after each use and your surprised theirs no rust? I don’t really see a valid test or really surprised of the result.

  2. Pingback: SERVICING — 13 Concept A | Gasping Gurami·

  3. Pingback: SERVICING — Daiwa Certate Hyper Custom | Gasping Gurami·

  4. Pingback: SERVICING — 2015 Daiwa Saltiga Star Drag 10/15HL | Gasping Gurami·

  5. Pingback: SERVICING — 2015 Daiwa Saltiga Star Drag 10/15HL | Gasping Gurami·

Leave a Reply

